A Complete Information and Resource website about Falmouth Jamaica, Capital of Trelawny Parish

Green Park Great House

Green Park Great House was originally called Green Pond by its first owner George Sinclair of St. Ann, who acquired the property around 1740. The name Green Pond was derived from a small pond on the property, which was located nearby the Great House.

Over a period of time the Green Park property was owned by a number of individuals such as William Clarke of Hanover, Edward Barrett, great grandfather of Elizabeth Barrett Browning and James Peterkin. In 1761, the property was owned by the Kingston merchants namely Southworth and Kenion. Southworth began the construction of the present Great House on the site of the first house, but he died before it was completed. It was Southworth who changed the name from Green Pond to Green Park. The property was then bequeathed to William Artherton, who finished the house. His heirs were the subsequent owners of the property until 1910.

Source: Jnht

Latest Information Added

Contact Imformation

Falmouth Trelawny, Jamaica

Website: http://falmouthtravelguide.com
Email: info@falmouthtravelguide.com
Advertise: top5@falmouthtravelguide.com